Home

Shooting percentages in NBA 2K17 are vastly inflated. Blame the terrible defenses

This is a discussion on Shooting percentages in NBA 2K17 are vastly inflated. Blame the terrible defenses within the NBA 2K Basketball forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball
College Football 25 All-In-One Recruiting Guide: Do This, Not That
Madden 25 Review: Stalling in the Red Zone
Good AI in Football Games Is Way Too Rare

Old 05-04-2017, 11:19 AM   #1
Pro

OVR: 0
Shooting percentages in NBA 2K17 are vastly inflated. Blame the terrible defenses

Here's the thing. I've been playing basketball for 20 years. I understand the on court dynamics of shooting and defending shooters. The problem with shooting in 2K is that it has an exaggerated sense of what shots should be going in, and what shots should be missing (meaning it's too black and white).

Shooting percentages are a funny sometimes in how things are calculated for stat tracking and the numbers produced by way of them. Shooting in a gym, you often see good shooters hitting 80 out of 100 of their shots. This is because these are wide open shots with nobody aggressively looking to contest(obvious, ikr). If a guy get's that kind of shot in a game setting, 8/10 times it's money (in the gym shot)