Home

Feedback and Suggestions from a Top 100 Player.

This is a discussion on Feedback and Suggestions from a Top 100 Player. within the EA Sports UFC forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Combat Sports > EA Sports UFC
College Football 25 All-In-One Recruiting Guide: Do This, Not That
Madden 25 Review: Stalling in the Red Zone
Good AI in Football Games Is Way Too Rare

Old 08-24-2020, 11:27 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
Arrow Feedback and Suggestions from a Top 100 Player.

Warning, this will be a pretty long one, with no TLDR.

So after a long and excruciating trip to the top 100, I now feel like I have had enough time with the game to offer my criticisms towards certain aspects of the game.

I'm not the greatest player in the world, and in a way I'm still learning but I do very much enjoy playing this game and like most of you I want to see it improve, so I'm writing this post.

I'm only going to touch on what I would like to see worked on as a priority in terms of game balance and systems that need tweaking, as I feel like gameplay should be priority over other things like graphics and animations.

Risk-Reward Philosophy

In most fighting games, the way that they balance attacks is very often based on frame-data. In simple terms, a light attack will have low frames and low damage, a heavy attack will have high frames and high damage.

In UFC 4, we do see this in most attacks, a Jab has a small frame startup (low risk) and also deals low damage (low reward). A Roundhouse kick to the head has a large frame startup (high risk) and deals heavy damage (high reward).

However, in a lot of cases - this philosophy goes out of the window, and I feel like in terms of balance, this is the where a lot of problems stem from with the game at the moment - many player actions in the game need their risk-reward values looked at. Here are some examples of bad cases of risk-reward currently in the game:

Clinch. (Low Risk - High Reward)