Home

I'm not a programmer, but i worked in Network Communications.

This is a discussion on I'm not a programmer, but i worked in Network Communications. within the NBA 2K Basketball forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball
College Football 25 All-In-One Recruiting Guide: Do This, Not That
Madden 25 Review: Stalling in the Red Zone
Good AI in Football Games Is Way Too Rare

Old 03-17-2020, 08:27 PM   #1
MVP

howardphillips214's Arena

OVR: 0
I'm not a programmer, but i worked in Network Communications.

We're always complaining about the servers being laggy and unresponsive. I went AFK for an hour and when i came back was not disconnected from The Neighborhood. I can only imagine the number of idle users doing what i did. I may not be using much data standing still, but this is still an active connection to the server and that bandwidth could have been allocated to another user. There are just too many things like this with this game. Complete lack of common sense.

Now, before anyone says something like "if you're that concerned about it, you should have DCed yourself." That still doesn't account for the thousands of users that are idle all the time.

In GTA Online you're allotted 15 minutes if idle time. I think that's plenty.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 03-18-2020, 06:42 AM   #2
Nza
MVP

OVR: 16
Re: I'm not a programmer, but i worked in Network Communications.

Must be new in 20? It was definitely a thing until recently - when I was away for a while, I used to put my controller down in a way that the left joystick was jammed in a direction so my character keep running (into a wall eventually) and I wouldn't get kicked off due to inactivity.
Old 03-18-2020, 10:29 AM   #3
Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nza