Home

I wish 2k at least tried to make historic ratings realistic

This is a discussion on I wish 2k at least tried to make historic ratings realistic within the NBA 2K Basketball MyTeam forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball MyTeam
College Football 25 All-In-One Recruiting Guide: Do This, Not That
Madden 25 Review: Stalling in the Red Zone
Good AI in Football Games Is Way Too Rare

Old 12-16-2016, 01:23 PM   #1
Rookie

billiethetree's Arena

OVR: 0
I wish 2k at least tried to make historic ratings realistic

I started playing MyTeam in 2k13 and I loved the idea of playing cross generational fantasy teams, almost as if to end those arguments of who was better or which era was better. Now, in an effort to spice things up and try to get users to have more variety in teams, 2k has thrown the baby out with the bath water and given a lot of historical players completely non sensical ratings. And the dynamic duos just exasperate this even more.

Case in point, the Shaq-Penny duo. The idea of duos in theory sounds fun, but the application has been horrid. Yeah, maybe Magic Shaq played better with Penny, but why buff his FT to 85?? Why would Penny have an effect on his FT %? I realize this is a fantasy mode for fun, but this is totally immersion breaking. I want to play 95 Shaq vs other historic centers, but what's the point of playing with historic players if their ratings are completely nonsensical? It's not Shaq, just some random center with random stats. If you wanna buff shaq up to his greatest level of all time well ok, but he still wasn't shooting %70 from the line. I've yet to see a player in MTO miss a FT with the Diamond Shaq and his duo.