Home

Best Pitch Types

This is a discussion on Best Pitch Types within the MLB The Show forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Baseball > MLB The Show
EA Sports College Football 25 Gameplay Deep Dive
Operation Sports Is Looking to Hire a Freelancer Specializing in Racing Games
Is Caitlin Clark in NBA 2K24?

Old 07-12-2016, 11:23 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 2
Best Pitch Types

I'm curious to find out what kind of success people have with each of the pitch types. I haven't been able to try them all out myself but there are some I've had a lot of experience with. I'm particularly interested in getting swings and misses. What's your best strikeout pitch? General thoughts below, ranking from top to bottom.

4-seam Fastball - May be a bit boring but to me it's the best pitch in the game. Easiest to control and provides a good amount of whiffs, especially high in the zone.

Slider - My favorite strikeout pitch. Not easy to control but certainly easier than curveballs and I get a lot of swings and misses.

Change-up - I tend to include all the changeups in one category as they seem practically identical. I prefer a circle change on the outside against opposite-handed batters as it tails away from them. Good ability to induce whiffs and weak grounders but you have to make sure to keep it low in the zone or it will get hammered. I tend to set up slightly below the zone so I'm less likely to make a mistake.

Cutter - doesn't induce a lot of misses but it's good for getting on the bat handle against an opposite-handed batter and it's fairly easy to control. I try to use it tailing away from same-handed batters (like a slider) but they seem to hit it pretty well and don't chase it enough.