Home

The Sovartus Defense Tutorial and Points in the Paint Reduction Strategies

This is a discussion on The Sovartus Defense Tutorial and Points in the Paint Reduction Strategies within the NBA 2K Last Gen forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball > NBA 2K Last Gen
College Football 25 All-In-One Recruiting Guide: Do This, Not That
Madden 25 Review: Stalling in the Red Zone
Good AI in Football Games Is Way Too Rare

Old 10-24-2013, 12:45 AM   #1
Hoops Mechanic

Sovartus's Arena

OVR: 20
The Sovartus Defense Tutorial and Points in the Paint Reduction Strategies

Hello fellow OS'ers,

I will start this tutorial by saying I am far from an expert at playing 2K. There are tons of players and members of this site that are way better than I am and probably better authorities on the subjects I'm about to speak on. So with that said, I humbly offer my take on how to play tough lock down on ball defense and cut down the number of points scored on you in the paint.

I must start this discussion with a brief chat about difficulty level. I know many of the HOF enthusiasts will probably disagree with some of the things I say but hey, it's cool man, I'm just speaking from my point of view and experience with the game. Some of these things, I have spoken directly to the developers about and others came from hours of controller throwing moments that I became determined to overcome. So, here it goes......

The default level is Pro for a reason. This is the level at which the developers tune the game. All of the players have their ACTUAL RATINGS and they aren't boosted at all except during the game as the action happens.

Now, for every level you go up in difficulty, ONLY THE CPU's team gets a 5 to 7 point ratings boost in several categories. So by the time you get to HOF, a 70 rated player is more along the lines of an 85 to 90 rated player. Difficulty levels are created for a challenge not realism.