Home

I am a high school football coach

This is a discussion on I am a high school football coach within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
College Football 25 All-In-One Recruiting Guide: Do This, Not That
Madden 25 Review: Stalling in the Red Zone
Good AI in Football Games Is Way Too Rare
Closed Thread

Old 07-05-2011, 08:26 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
I am a high school football coach

this will be my first year of coaching high school football and I am going to use NCAA 12 to have my players learn my playbook. Perhaps some of you can offer up your best systems? I am a fan of the Mississippi State style of Spread. I'm thinking of mixing in some power sets (wishbone, power I, Maryland I, etc.) for short yardage situations. We will be a no huddle offense. My defense is not complex at all. I'm going to rush 6 80% of the time and only drop into zone on 3rd and 8 or more. I have been a fan of the NCAA series for several years now.

A little history on the team I am taking over. We are a 3A school in Alabama. Our last winning season was 1987 (6-5). That was also the last year the program made the state playoffs. The school is 90% white. I want to make it fun for the guys.

We are not allowed to start practice until August but we can do some 7-on-7 tournaments and I plan on having some NCAA tournaments at my home. Some of the kids do not have game systems and that is a problem I am currently trying to work out. I have met with most of the players parents and have informed them of my plan. I have several fund raising ideas in the works (car washes, lawn mowings, etc.) to try and raise some money and I am trying to start a booster club. Yes, you read that correctly. This team does not even have a booster club!