Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 05-09-2013, 10:31 AM   #1
CleBrownsfan
Pro Rookie

My son and Down Syndrome

I posted the exiting birth story of my son Henry a little over a month and wanted to share with you the news we received a few days after he was born. Henry is diagnosed with Down's syndrome, also known as trisomy 21. The doctors had suspicions after seeing some common physical traits of DS. One was his webbed toes, and the other were his ears (they were small and lower than "normal"). They took blood samples to run a chromosome test and told us it could take 5-10 days for the results. After four days the results came in - and it was confirmed, Henry has three of the chromosome 21.

I'm the first one to say that I am not very good at describing my feeling in writing. I can't even describe to you all the feelings I had leading up to the conformation because my emotions were so up and down. All I know, I had to be there for my wife. She was a wreck! Being strong for her helped me through the grieving stages.

Fast-forward to today... after a few weeks of the grieving, shock, and about 1,000,000 different emotions - we have a completely different aspect to having a child with special needs. You see, I (we) have never been around anyone who has special needs. The more we read, watch, and listen to other people talk about their lives with special needs, the more I feel blessed we have Henry in our life. I wouldn't change who he is for anything. I am very grateful for our family and friends - they have been so supportive. I know it seems obvious - but it's amazing how much support has helped and will continue to help.

Thank you for reading - I'm sure I'll be updating the post many times throughout the years

[IMG] photo 066.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG] photo 048.jpg[/IMG]

FOOL-X - Cleveland Naps
FOOL - Cleveland Cyclones