Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 05-02-2013, 06:15 PM   #1
booradley
High School Varsity

Did you get a raise?

I did. OK. Great. But at 2.3%, it was lower than expected coming off a year where, again, I said "Yes" to every report request that came to my way, and basically busted my ass to make everyone happy.

According to NBCNews, the average rate increase is projected to be 3%. So, am I to be insulted, here?

I'm a business analyst and information systems analyst for a national marketing firm. I'd be interested in some serious feedback before I have a little chat with my boss (the COO) on Monday.

booradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:26 PM   #2
Lathum
Favored Bitch #1

I did, around 5%. I was actually surprised because I moved from Seattle to Cincinnati. My company does cost of living adjustment, so in Seattle I got 110% pay, so I figured no raise this year to compensate. I am also consistently a top performer in all our metrics, so that likely helped.
Lathum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:26 PM   #3
path12
Coordinator

I got a nice raise this year, 9%. But it was the first one in almost 4 years, so if you spread it out it's not as impressive. I'm still taking it though.
Old 05-02-2013, 06:29 PM   #4
Matthean
Grizzled Veteran

So what if you got the highest raise among your co-workers?
Old 05-02-2013, 06:37 PM   #5
Mizzou B-ball fan
General Manager

A raise is not a requirement, it's a reward. I'm always surprised how many people look at the average national raise percentage and assume that anything below means your employer doesn't think you did an average or better job. There are factors within each business that vary the raise percentage quite a bit.

Bottom line.....do your job and the increase in pay will come, whether at your current job or somewhere else.