Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 04-16-2003, 01:59 PM   #1
Philliesfan980
Banned

Buying a new computer, like some input!

Hey guys,

I'm going to be purchasing a new computer sometime in the next few weeks. I'm not a total expert, but I think I have a pretty good idea of what to get. It seems that now its cheaper to go to a merchants website and buy all the components from them , and they also take out the hassle of assembly. Keeping everything under the same warranty also makes things a little easier also.

Here's what I'm looking to get:

P4 - 2.66 533mhz (I hear that the 3.06 HT is overkill right now)
1024 MB 3200 RAM
Radion 9700 All in Wonder PRO 128 MEG(video capture purposes)
120 GIG Western Digital HDD w/ 8 meg cache
17 inch LCD display (not sure what brand yet).
Speakers? I want nice ones
DVD/CDROM (16x)/(52x24x52)
WINXP PROFESSIONAL
Sound Card?
Motherboard for intel ?(Furture upgrade to Intel HT Processors must)
All other compents (keyboard/mouse/etc - don't matter)

Any idea's where I can get all this stuff at the best price?
Any other suggestions? Missing Items? Overkill items?

Thanks alot!

Philliesfan980

Philliesfan980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 02:11 PM   #2
Franklinnoble
Banned

Dude, you're gettin' a Dell
Franklinnoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2003, 02:15 PM   #3
Philliesfan980
Banned

I really don't want a Dell. I like those small "We build our's in the garage" places. I don't want some of my price going to outrageous advertising expenses and advertising.

Basically I priced this out on one website and I can get it all for about $1700, give or take some components. I'm willing to go up to $2,000 for quality stuff.
Old 04-16-2003, 02:15 PM   #4
Airhog
Captain Obvious

why get a lcd monitor? those things are still pretty expensive.....