Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 07-06-2007, 10:01 AM   #1
MikeVic
Head Coach

Money Investing/Growing Advice

I'm starting to get a nice amount of money saved up (well, nice to me...), and I don't like it just sitting in my chequing account.

A savings account with my bank (CIBC) can at most give me 3.05% it seems (http://cibc.com/ca/rates/bank-acct-rates.html)... which doesn't seem like a lot.

This kind of financial stuff is most likely different in Canada and the U.S., so does anyone in Canada have ideas of what I can do?

MikeVic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:06 AM   #2
MikeVic
Head Coach

INGdirect.ca seems to do 3.5%... but that seems low too. I would try to learn more about stocks and all that, but I know absolutely nothing right now.
Old 07-06-2007, 10:23 AM   #3
st.cronin
General Manager

I used to work as a stockbroker. You don't need to know much, if anything, to buy stocks. Just buy the stock of a company that makes a good product, a product that you personally like, whether its a brand of coffee or a laptop or shoes or whatever, and don't worry about all the technical stuff.

Most stocks that are publically traded are well-run companies, and if they are making a good product, in the long run, they will make money for you.

knives out
st.cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:33 AM   #4
JPhillips
Hall Of Famer

TIAA-CREF mutual funds have a good history and low fees.
Old 07-06-2007, 10:37 AM   #5
digamma
Torchbearer

What are you saving for?

What is your time horizon?

How much risk are you willing to accept?
digamma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:39 AM   #6
chesapeake
College Starter