Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 04-24-2007, 12:51 AM   #1
Abe Sargent
Hall Of Famer

Is This a Little...easy? (WSM)

So, I started playing a dynasty in Worldwide Socceer manager - Lastest edition, latest patch.

I like a bit of a challenge and I like the ability to bring in plays from lots of places. I decided to play in Belgium as Cercle Brugge (not Clubbe Brugge, but Cercle).

Okay, first year, predicted to relegate at 18th, finish 15th. Second year, predicted to relegate at 17th, finish 13th. Last year, predicted to finish 15th, finished 11th.

These are not major accomplishments. Sure, we've done better than others expected, but not massively so.

During this time, I have applied for every national side that opened up. Israel twice, Canada twice, Spain, Italy, Ukraine, Serbia, and more that I can;t remember at the time. No national side has ever sniffed my jocks.

I also applied for the occasional bigger club once or twice. Bolton, Nurnberg, and some Dutch club who's name I can;t recall.

I;m not getting these jobs anytime soon, I know that.

Never made it to the round of 16 in the Belgian Cup, never coached a national side, did not take any experience in my background. I chose Brunei and USA as my dual nationalities. I now know French, English and Malay.

So, the French job just opened up. Despite them currrently being number one in their WC qualifer group, the head coach wanted to retire. Like normal, I apply, on a lark.

They've just offered me the job.

So, what, exactly, are they seeing in my coach in order to offer me one of the most pretigious jobs in international coaching? The French job has got to be one of the top 10 jobs (Brazil, Argentina, England, Italy, Spain, Germany and France would be my top 7, with probably Netherlands in the top 10 as well).