Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 06-28-2003, 03:44 AM   #1
EagleFan
Hall Of Famer

Oh, not that Margate?

Tiresome job hunting lately. I've been searching the papers everywhere for a job, at this point it doesn't matter to me what the job is.

There's a curious little advertisement for a job in Margate, a manager's job. I have some past experience in retail management prior to becoming a programmer. I might be able to fall back on that for a while.

There is an email address to write to if interested so I send off an email and mention that I had 7 years experience as a manager prior to finding a position much higher up with more room to grow.

It's a few days later and I received a response from the email telling me that growing ios just what they are hoping to do and they would like to call me to discuss my time as a manager. It was oddly worded, there was something in there mentioning pitch, it must be a sales job. I'll have to turn on the charm and see what I can do over the phone.

The next day I received the call. I was surprised to hear an English accent, not something you usually hear in Margate. He asked me several questions about how I handle my squad when I was managing, must be the English term for employees. I basically told him that I have always felt it best to see where they are the best fit, and see who gets along best within the 'squad' (figured it's best to stay in his element).

He asked what I would do if someone was making trouble on the squad and I basically let him know that I do not put up with that for any reason, especially if it is affecting the performance of the rest of the 'squad'. I said that I go with a team concept and that not one person is bigger than the team.