Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 07-02-2008, 05:57 PM   #1
Galaril
Pro Starter

Ping:Project Managers

I am going to be taking over a IT Project Manager position with my company and am looking for a good Project manager book or site? I have done plenty of informal PM stuff but not one like this will I need to know how to make a formal project plan showing interdependencies and milestones in Microsoft Project. I am trying to avoid textbooks or books that are focused on passing one of the PM certifications. Also, I am in IT so the focus needs to be IT Project management and hopefully the book covers something related to "Microsft Project" Thanks.

Galaril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 06:15 PM   #2
wade moore
lolzcat

Sadly all of my stuff has been self-taught or from company sponsored courses .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subby
Maybe I am just getting old though, but I am learning to not let perfect be the enemy of the very good...
wade moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 06:27 PM   #3
Buccaneer
Head Coach

We actually been ramping up on Kepner-Tregoe for all of our project management, not just IT. Reason is that IT PM cannot and should not be any different than non-technical PM in a company. On the other hand, I am quite involved in ITIL, but you don't want to go there. Other than those, our IT PM are MS Project experts (I'm not, don't want to be). When I get back to work on Monday, I can ask some of our certified PMs to see what non-Project stuff they got into.
Buccaneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 10:19 PM   #4
Galaril
Pro Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buccaneer View Post