Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 03-20-2010, 12:26 AM   #1
EagleFan
Hall Of Famer

Attention Wal-Mart Customers...

Okay, I have hear ENOUGH about this story already.

Long story short: Someone got on the intercom at a Wal-Mart and made an annoucement along the lines of "Attention Wal-Mart customers, all blacks must leave the store."

Yes it's racist. Yes it's stupid.

But...

Anyone can freaking get on those store intercoms. I used to work in retail a while back and there were always isolated instances of kids getting on an intercom and being stupid. In this case they were being ignorant and racist.

Not sure what Wal-Mart's intercom is like but we had to dial a code to get on the intercom but people could still get that code by watching someone making page on the system.

First what gets under my skin is hearing people talking about boycotting Wal-Mart and all that crap. I am far from a defender of Wal-Mart and generally avoid the store if I can but they are not responsible for this incident. Hell, even if it was an employee (which it wasn't and we'll get to that later) there is no way that Wa-Mart could keep said employee from making an announcement like that.

The ONLY reason to get your panties in a bunch about this would be if Wal-Mart threw their arms up in the air and said "oh well" about the whole thing. The store and the company apologized as quickly as possible and immediately began looking into it. Yet this is not enough for some people, some are saying they may never go back in the store. WTF?!?!?!?!? How idiotic is that? Yeah, let's boycott a store because of something that someone not associated with the store in any way did; even though the store handled the matter appropriately...