Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 07-06-2009, 10:09 PM   #1
thesloppy
Pro Starter

Do you consider your job part of your identity?

I was thinking today about how often we use our job as an identifier in this country. When you introduce yourself to someone, or if you're a gameshow contestant, or in just about any social situation, your name is the first thing people offer, and almost immediately after comes your line of work.

Do you personally identify yourself with your job? Like, do you think "I'm an architect!", or is your job one of the last things you associate with yourself?

I think that probably depends a lot on the social status of the job in question, and your interest in that field. Personally, I've never been too attached to my work, and it's one of the last things I'd offer about myself, although it's never one of the last things asked. Anybody's who's been unemployed is probably familiar with the not-often-mentioned joy of going to a party, or social situation, and having to spend half the time announcing your unemployment, as part of introductions. We've all probably also met one of those folks who insists on being called 'Dr.' every time they're addressed, in even the most casual of settings.

Where do you fit?

thesloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 10:14 PM   #2
DaddyTorgo
Hall Of Famer

nah

Last edited by DaddyTorgo : 07-06-2009 at 10:14 PM.
DaddyTorgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 10:15 PM   #3
judicial clerk
College Benchwarmer

So...you didn't mention what you do for a living.
judicial clerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 10:16 PM   #4
thesloppy
Pro Starter