Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 02-04-2009, 11:51 PM   #1
21C
College Prospect

Teachers aren't too bright

Let's start out by saying that I am a teacher - high school Math. Sometimes I just have to shake my head and wonder who some of these people that are teaching our kids.

Story 1:
We had an after school meeting to discuss different things. One of the teachers was to present some information on Occupational Health and Safety. He had a Word file opened that was being displayed on a data projector. He then asks the IT guy to assist him get the relevant page on display. I'm thinking that he needed another file opened but all he needed was to scroll down!

I could not believe what I was seeing. It wasn't like he had his hands full with some demonstration. In about five minutes he again calls for assistance to scroll down.

Story 2:
We had a union meeting to discuss our recent pay rise - which was amazing in our current economic climate. It was broken down into three parts - 4.4% this year, 3.8% next year and 3.8% the year after.

We are a Catholic school and one of the teachers asks why we are not getting the same deal as the public schools when we always match their pay rises. He says that their pay rise was reported as being 12.48% over three years but ours only adds up to 12%.

Immediately everyone else starts to talk amongst themselves and ask the same thing. As a Math teacher, I know the answer but I wasn't going to correct the guy in front of everyone.

Eventually someone speaks up and says that it is because the rises are compounded which will result in 12.48% by the end of the three years. I watch all of the teachers in amazement as they ask each other if that is true. Even some of my fellow Math teachers are having it explained to them - and we teach this kind of stuff.

21C is offline   Reply With Quote