Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 06-18-2005, 12:10 PM   #1
ahbrady
High School JV

High school athletics in your state

I'm a coach at a private school in Arkansas. Our state association is voting on changing things up quite a bit for the year after this next one, and I was wondering how some of the other states do things. Currently Arkansas has five classifications ranging from A to AAAAA, with only the top four playing football. Private school students are multiplied by 1.35 to determine what class the private school will participate in. The state association has already determined that the AA and AAA classes will be combined and divided into three different classes. There is a proposal to split the highest classification into two different classes. There is also a proposal to raise the private school multiplier to 1.75.

I don't want either proposal to pass, but I think both will. I obviously have a vested interest in the private school multiplier, so I'm biased on that one. The one about splitting the highest class into two classes is more ridiculous to me. The fact that a state as small as Arkansas will have a AAAAAAA state championship seems absurd. There will also only be 16 schools in the 7A and 6A classifications, which to me cheapens winning a state championship.

Sorry for rambling about that a little too much. I really just wanted to see how other states did their classifications and whether private schools had a multiplier or had their own division.

Last edited by ahbrady : 06-18-2005 at 12:11 PM.
ahbrady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 12:22 PM   #2
Tigercat
College Starter