Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 05-10-2003, 06:53 PM   #1
sabotai
General Manager

I've made a decision (About my Sim)

I've decided to scrap it and start over.

I started this project about 2 years ago. Back then I was a sloppy coder. In fact, when I started this project, I didn't have many plans for it. I was just throwing together a very simple sim for multi-player.

As time went on, I added things to the design. Many things. A couple of attributes became dozens. Hidden ones got added. Coaches got added. Detailed game plans got added (and redone several times). Salary cap, Team financials, stadiums...the works.

I would say about 95% of what I have planned for this game right now was not in the original design.

Because of that, the code is extremly bad. I thought as I went through I would redo the code as I got to it. So far, it's worked. But after doing several things today, it's not working anymore.

I've learned an extremly valuable lesson working on this football sim. Never, under any circumstances, change the original design once coding has begun. And ALWAYS stick to the original design document. NEVER change the design, ALWAYS stick to it. A lesson that after 2 years on this thing, I've finally learned.

For my next project, I will be doing a SIMPLE game. A very simple one. It probably won't be football. I have not decided what it will be.

As for football, I'm hitting the books. I am going to learn everything I possibly can about college and pro football. THEN, and only after I have done that, I will write out a COMPLETE and DETAILED design document. And then, only after I have COMPLETED the design document, will I begin work on the football sim.