Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 02-02-2001, 03:01 PM   #1
Subby
lolzcat

Post 3-4 vs. 4-3 in FOF2K1

Before I started playing FOF, the 3-4 was, to me, some antiquated defense the Bengals played in the 80's. Of course, the depth of my football knowledge is about as deep as Eric Dickerson's game-day analysis - but I'm learning.
Anyway - for the first 100 seasons or so of FOF, I completely ignored the 3-4 in favor of the 4-3. Why? Well, it seemed like the game defaulted to it, plus I instinctually felt that having 4 down linemen would be better suited against the run. Then one crisp December day I watched my Skins get pummeled by the Steelers and their 3-4 and I started thinking...are you more athletic and flexible in your defensive sets when you subtract a defensive tackle and add a linebacker? I am beginning to think the answer is 'yes'.

First, let's compare the two defenses:

The 4-3: This is, by far, the most common defensive set in the NFL (Baltimore and Tampa Bay both employ it). There are four down linemen (2 DTs, 2 DEs), flanked by 2 OLB and a MLB. The FS takes receivers who are released out of the flat, while the SS acts like a 4th linebacker, plugging the available running lanes or shutting down the medium-distance pass.. The two CBs are asked to cover man-to-man or release their guys to the FS and SS.

The 3-4: The biggest difference, obviously, is that you have an extra LB and one less DT. The two middle linebackers are going to plug the gaps in order to try to stop the run, while the OLB will rush on the corners or cover the man coming out of the backfield. The secondary behaves similarly, but with more run-stopping responsibility for the SS.