Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 03-04-2014, 06:41 PM   #1
Vince, Pt. II
Pro Starter

Pre-Employment Background Check

For the last six years, I've worked for a local utility company in a position that was being eliminated. When I was hired, I was made aware of this, and was told that it would probably be a 1-2 year position. They truly are cutting back - there were 55 of us when I started, and we're down to six now.

Last week, I accepted a job offer for a permanent position with the company - it was a huge relief, and I was very excited. But they did a background check on me - no big deal, I'm not a criminal - and the results are frustrating. Here's the situation:

They want 7 years of employment history. Unfortunately, before I landed this job I was a man of many trades - in 2007 I was a full time teacher, pizza delivery man and a car salesman. Then in 2008, I was a substitute teacher until April, when I started with my current company. I have copies of all my W-2's, so this isn't that big a deal. Today, the results of the background check came in (I requested a copy of the results), and I'm pretty upset. The car salesman gig is no biggie, that cleared fine. What didn't was my work as a teacher. I claimed I was a teacher from March 2006 to March 2008 - which I was. I was a substitute teacher from March 06 to October 06, then I landed a permanent job as a PE Teacher until June 07. After quitting my job as a car salesman in December of 07, I was a substitute teacher again from January 08 until I got my current position in April of 08.

San Jose Unified School District claimed I was a teacher from October 2006 to June of 2007. The company doing the background check said 'cool' and left it at that - no request from me for W-2's or anything. The report comes in with a big red "Discrepancy" under that entry in employment history.