Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 04-30-2009, 04:29 AM   #1
Icy
Pro Starter

Ping Wii owners

I'm going to join this "club" soon and as a totally Wii newbie I need advice

My 2 years old Ps3 broke 1.5 months ago (bluray lens). I sent it to Sony as it still was one month more under warranty and they took 5 weeks to send me a refurbished one as my early model is not in production anymore.

In the mean time, and tired of waiting, i decided to buy a new one. So i decided to sell/exchange the refurbished PS3 as soon as it came from Sony and to keep the new purchased one that is an improvement over my early model (way less heating, less noise, upgraded bluray drive).

I have received an offer to exchange that refurbished PS3 for a wii + extra controllers + cash. I was thinking on only cash at first, but i think it is a good deal and maybe this could be the chance to get my wife into consoles, as she has already showed curiosity about the wii a few times
as party console to play with friends and with our son once he grows a bit more.

So my questions is, which games do you recommend and why? mainly for party gaming, women or even something fun but educative for my kid that is still a bit young (1.5 years) but that already shows a lot of interest on games and enjoys using a controller along with me when i play in the PS3.

I doubt i'll play it alone as i only play sports games and mainly in the PS3, but i'm curious about sports games using the wii controller (baseball, golf, tennis, boxing, etc).

Also what about peripherals? I have seen a lot of sports related extras to plug in your standard Wii controllers for added realism.

Have any of you tried the wii fit? and Rock band with accessories?

Do i need any memory card or something to store downloaded content or save games or can i use an external usb HDD?

Thanks in advance.