Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 07-11-2005, 10:12 AM   #1
Bea-Arthurs Hip
H.S. Freshman Team

FM / MLS Help

I am a FM Novice. Been playing a while and finally understand the basics of the game by playing a few year career in League Two of the English Leagues.

Anyway, now I want to take the plunge into an MLS career. I know next to nothing about the rules of MLS or players and from what I can tell FM does not reflect everything correctly.

In FM is there a hard sallary cap?

Is there a maximun number of non-US players you can have on your roster?

Where do MLS teams pull majority of their talent from ?

Lastly, if I start as an "American" and have a succesfull career. How possible is it for me to get a High profile job in the English Leagues?

Any other FM-MLS input is appreciated.

PS - I just got the Fox Sports Soccer Channel and i can honestly say that I am now hooked on this sport. I found myself watching MLS and ULS games over the weekend over baseball games..Never thought this day would come and it is all thanks to FM.

Bea-Arthurs Hip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 10:50 AM   #2
Mr. Wednesday
Pro Starter

As far as the "real" rules of MLS go:
* There is supposedly a hard salary cap. However, that includes a max salary per player, and they find ways to get around the individual player salary ceiling when they feel the player warrants it -- notable examples being Landon Donovan and Freddy Adu. Only the max salary counts against the cap, as the overage tends to be classified as "endorsements".

* There is a maximum of three "senior international" players on a team, where "senior internationals" are 25 or older and non-citizens. Due to U.S. law, a player holding a green card is classified as an American for roster purposes.